top of page

Early Years Curriculum Overview

We follow the British Early Years Framework here at Cambridge English School. The two main goal of the Early Years Framework is to improve the outcome of children at aged 5 with a focus on improving their early language skills.


Within the Early Years, our curriculum focuses on guiding children through seven areas of learning. These include: Physical Development, Personal, Social and Emotional Development, and Communication and Language, Literacy, Maths, Understanding the World and Expressive Arts and Design.

The 7 Areas of Learning in EYFS:

  • PD

  • PSED

  • CL

  • L

  • M

  • UW

  • EAD

Across those disciplines, our children are presented with a variety of problem-solving activities, designed to help them develop critical thinking skills and enhance their curiosity about the world around them. While safety is paramount, we want to create a nurturing environment to encourage our children to take on tasks and challenges that push them beyond their comfort zone.

At CES, we value our sense of community and regularly create opportunities for children in the school to come into the Early Years classrooms to help the younger ones with their reading and language development. We also welcome parents into the classroom to learn alongside their children during themed days and to take part in workshops to help parents understand how they can best support their children at home. 

Our staff work tirelessly to ensure the children in the Early Years get the best start on their educational journey. We want the children to be excited about coming to school and to develop into life long learners. Our sessions are a mixture of child-led and adult-led learning to create the optimum learning experience for our children. 

Our Gallery

bottom of page